Japan in August ’15

It’s finally here! My last recap post I will make about my life in Japan. It’s been a whirlwind of an adventure but I wouldn’t trade the past ten, eleven months for anything in the world. I learned so much and I grew so much while living on my own in a foreign country that was several thousands of miles away from my home. I started off August by attending one last live concert that once again was headlined by one of my favorite artists, Soraru. It was a stars and galaxy-themed concert with the headlining acts performing several songs each that were related to the theme. Soraru even sang “Planetarium” (originally sang by Otsuka Ai) and I could not stop crying.

IMG_9273.jpg

IMG_9274.jpgIMG_9278.jpgIMG_9283.jpgIMG_9296.jpg

I stopped by my friend’s part-time job place in Kobe and indulged in a wonderful vegetarian crepe and biscuit. I didn’t even realize that the food was vegetarian until my friend reminded me. I highly recommend!

IMG_9318.jpg

I stopped by Universal Studios Japan one last time to watch the ONE PIECE show that they always perform in the summer time. The show is performed by live actors, complete with special effects.

IMG_9336.jpg

One of the best pizzas I have ever eaten in my entire life. I had gorgonzola pizza and drizzled honey on top. I didn’t realize what a wonderful combination it would be but man! I love the salty-sweet taste.

IMG_9344.jpgIMG_9347.jpg

One of my favorite cheap yet chic places to eat, Soup Stock Tokyo. I had the lobster bisque here with a side of rice and lime soda. I love visiting small chain restaurants like these around Japan. The chains in Japan are so different from American chains and I like the variety more!

IMG_9350.jpgIMG_9351.jpgIMG_9353.jpg

I stopped by a Gudetama-themed cafe with my friend for one last hang out in Osaka. I ordered the mango shaved ice. All the food was adorably Gudetama-themed!

IMG_9361.jpgIMG_9362.jpg

We finished the day at a make your own takoyaki restaurant. It wasn’t too expensive and was actually along the same price of ordering takoyaki at a stall on the outside. We ordered the usual takoyaki with octopus and we also ordered it with mochi and cheese. I forget the name of the restaurant but I highly recommend you check around Umeda!

IMG_9365.jpg

A cute display in Umeda Hankyuu Station.

IMG_9421.jpgIMG_9422.jpg

The remnants in my room after packing everything carefully. It still feels so surreal to look at this room like this… I lived here for so long and now I have to leave it.

IMG_9427.jpgIMG_9430.jpgIMG_9436.jpgIMG_9438.jpgIMG_9446.jpgIMG_9447.jpgIMG_9448.jpgIMG_9452.jpg

Graduation ceremony and pictures! When our name was called, we had to go up to the podium, bow towards the north at an angle at the left and right at the sponsors and professors for our program and then bow in front for the person handing us our certificates. You accept the certificate with both hands and then bow once more in all three directions before taking a seat again.

IMG_9476.jpg

The first meal I partook in after arriving in Tokyo. My plan was to move out of my dormitory in Osaka a week before I would leave Japan. I would fly out from Tokyo back to Atlanta in a week and wanted to do a mini-vacation in Tokyo for my remaining time in Japan. I love CoCoCurry! Simple yet just perfect and customizable.

IMG_9502.jpg

On my second day, I went with my friends to the Final Fantasy Eorzea cafe. I’m not too familiar with Final Fantasy online multi-player games but I love Final Fantasy so I wasn’t too bothered about not being knowledgeable about the material. Everything was still adorable and delicious.

IMG_9508.jpgIMG_9511.jpgIMG_9525.jpgIMG_9527.jpgIMG_9531.jpgIMG_9602.jpg

I went out to karaoke for roughly six hours with my friend who is currently working in Tokyo! We sang until our voices became hoarse.

IMG_9605.jpg

Hanging out with yet another friend in Tokyo before I left! We spent the day cafe-hopping and doing young Japanese girl-like things such as purikura.

IMG_9615.jpgIMG_9616.jpgIMG_9617.jpg

The ever so cute Rilakkuma-themed cafe in TOWER Records! Everything was too cute. I wanted to take all the Rilakkuma back home with me.

IMG_9629.jpgIMG_9630.jpg

Schoolgirl uniform-themed purikura. We are too old for this, haha.

IMG_9632.jpg

I love ONE PIECE, this is a given.

IMG_9638.jpgIMG_9655.jpg

On my last day in Tokyo, I spent it with my other friend who is currently working as a salarywoman in Tokyo. We went to a cafe that was famous for astrology-themed parfaits and desserts. I got the Libra-themed parfait!

IMG_9664.jpg

Next, we went to a cat cafe for my first cat cafe experience and I got to pet many super fluffy and friendly cats. I didn’t even mind all the cat fur that ended up clinging to my clothes.

IMG_9677.jpgIMG_9687.jpgIMG_9697.jpgIMG_9712.jpgIMG_9717.jpg

Going home. Bittersweet but also relieved that I made it to the airport and train stations on time.

IMG_9747.jpgIMG_9751.jpg

I had a long 12 hour layover in South Korea so I met up with my friend outside the airport and she took me around Hongdae to eat some food and get a glimpse of Korean culture.

IMG_9753.jpgIMG_9755.jpgIMG_9756.jpg

What a high-tech buzzer to know when your food is ready!

IMG_9759.jpgIMG_9760.jpg

Korean subway pass.

IMG_9791.jpg

I landed back in the United States. My beloved yuan-ying fried rice.

IMG_9799.jpg

Oh, by the way, I ended up being upgraded to First Class on the way back home for free. Goodbye Japan! See you again soon! My next few posts will be mostly informational, how-to posts.

Leave a comment